Monday, 31 March 2014
Wednesday, 5 June 2013
Section:two(Microsoft Word 2007 to 2013)
lesson:01(The Crime Statistics Document)
In this section, you'll discover how to make text bold, underline text,
and change it to italics. You'll also learn something about bullets,
tabs, indents, margins, and the Page Setup.
So, when you're ready, launch Microsoft Word.
If you already have Word open, start a new blank document by clicking
the round Office button in the top left of Word, for 2007 users. From
the menu, click on New. When you see the dialogue box appear
select Blank Document then the Create button at the bottom:
For 2010 and 2013 users, click the File tab at
the top of Word. From the menu on the left, click on New to see
the following:
Select Blank Document from the list at the top.
Then click the Create button in the bottom right.
When you create a new document this page is always called Document
followed by a number (Document 1, Document 2, etc). Click the round
Office button in the top left and save your new document under a different
name. (Or click the File tab, if you have Word 2010.) You learnt
how to do this in the previous section. Call it Crime Statistics.
When you have saved your new document under a different name, type
in the following. Type it exactly as it is below. Don't try to format
it just yet.
Constable Tucker's Crime Statistics
January February March
Murder 0 0 0
Rape 0 0 0
Arson 0 0 0
House Burglary 0 0 0
Shop Burglary 0 0 0
Other Burglary 0 0 1*
Drunk Driving 1 1 1
Speeding 1 1 1
Murder 0 0 0
Rape 0 0 0
Arson 0 0 0
House Burglary 0 0 0
Shop Burglary 0 0 0
Other Burglary 0 0 1*
Drunk Driving 1 1 1
Speeding 1 1 1
*Does not include Mr Irate's alleged theft from his sweet shop
The crimes committed are:
The theft of a Delia Smith Cookery book from Councilman Todd's chauffer
The same person was caught drink driving three times in three months
Councilman Todd's chauffer was also speeding when he was drink-driving
The theft of a Delia Smith Cookery book from Councilman Todd's chauffer
The same person was caught drink driving three times in three months
Councilman Todd's chauffer was also speeding when he was drink-driving
As you can see, Constable Tucker's statistics are a bit
messy and difficult to read. We'll tidy the report up during the course
of this section. First, we'll make some of the text bold.
Last(Microsoft Word 2007 to 2013)
Spelling and Grammar Checking
One thing you probably will have noticed is the spelling mistakes in
the letter. You should have typed the letter exactly as it was, and
left any spelling errors in. More than likely, the spelling mistakes
are underlined in red in your document. Anything with a wiggly green
line under it is a grammatical error, (or what Microsoft Word insists
is a grammatical error).
The easiest way to correct spelling mistakes is to right click any
word that has a red wavy underline. You'll then see a menu appear:
In the image above, we've clicked with the right-hand
mouse button on the incorrectly spelt "counsil". The menu
that appears shows three alternative words: counsel, council, and counsels.
We meant council, of course. Click this option with your left mouse
button to replace the misspelt word. The red wavy underline will disappear.
(Incidentally, don't worry about the box that appears above the menu
as we'll get to formatting options in a later section.)
Do the same with the other two misspellings in your letter, and then
save your work. Now highlight the address you added to the right.
Spelling and Grammar Options
To check more than one word at a time, you can bring up the Spelling
and Grammar dialogue box. To see it, click on the Review tab
at the top of Word. On the Review tab, locate the Proofing section.
Then click Spelling & Grammar:
When you click on Spelling & Grammar, you'll see a
dialogue box appear in Word 2007 and Word 2010. This one:
In Word 2013, you'll see a panel appear on the right of
your screen. This one:
This dialogue box allows you to do most of the things
you can do by right-clicking a misspelt word. The Suggestions
area lists alternatives to the word you're trying to correct. The suggestion
for our fictional town of Evercrease is for two separate words, Ever
and Crease. To stop Word highlighting our fictional town as an
error, click the Add to Dictionary button on the right. (Or you
can click the Ignore buttons.)
In Word 2013, you'll see an extra area at the bottom.
You can click the speaker symbol to hear the word. You may also see
a list of alternatives to the word you typed. In the image above, Word
is suggesting assembly, commitee, and meeting.
When you have corrected a word, the dialogue box will move on to the
next one. In our case it will highlight the fictional postcode, insisting
that it is a repeated word. Click Ignore Once and Word will have
finished with its corrections. The dialogue box will then go away. To
get rid of the Spelling area in Word 2013, click the X in the top right
of the panel.
Setting Spelling and Grammar Rules
Sometimes, however, you want a little more control over what spelling
and grammar Microsoft Word highlights. For that, there is a Proofing
dialogue box.
In Word 2007, click the round Office button in the top left. At the
bottom of the menu you'll see a Word Options button:
In Word 2010 and Word 2013, click the File tab
again. Have a look for the Options item, near the bottom left:
Click Word Options (or just Options) button
and you'll see another dialogue box appear. On the left, select the
Proofing item. You'll then see the following rather complex list
of things you can do:
The check marks in each box show what options are currently
selected. Click a check mark to deselect that option. Click an empty
box to select it. So if you don't want Word behaving like a grammar
Nazi, uncheck the box that says Check grammar with spelling.
Microsoft Word AutoCorrect
One interesting option is AutoCorrect. Click the button at the top
of the Proofing dialogue box that says AutoCorrect Options. You'll
see this dialogue box:
On the AutoCorrect tab, you can see a lot of inbuilt options
have been checked. So Word will, for example, automatically capitalize
days of the weeks for you as soon as you press the space bar on your
keyboard.
The area at the bottom, "Replace text as you type", has also
been checked. What this means is that if you were to type a colon followed
by a left round bracket Word will change the two characters into a smiley
face. If you don't want Word doing this, select that option from the
list. Then click the Delete button.
However, you can use the Replace feature to your advantage.
If, for example, you didn't want to keep typing your full name all the
time, you can type say two characters into the Replace box. In
the With box, type your name, as in the image below:
After you click the Add button, your text will be added
to the list:
Click the OK buttons on the AutoCorrect dialogue box,
and on the Word Options dialogue box and you'll be returned to Word.
Now, whenever we type the initials "KC" and then press the
space bar on the keyboard, Word will replace them with the name "Ken
Carney".
And we'll leave the Library Complaint letter, as we're
done. In the next section we'll create a new document so that you can
learn some formatting.
lesson07(Microsoft Word 2007 to 2013)
Adding an Address to a Letter
If you haven't already done so, open your Library Complaint
letter. With the file open, do the following:
-
Position your cursor so that it is flashing before the letter "D" of "Dear sir or Madam"
-
Hit the Enter key on your keyboard about 5 or six times
-
This will give you a bit of room to type the address. We'll get rid of any unnecessary space later.
-
Your letter should now look something like this one
-
Move your cursor right up to the top, to the first line
-
Type in Mr Irate's address. It's this:
Mr Irate
12 High Street
Evercrease
EV1 EV1
When you have finished typing the address, it should look
like this:12 High Street
Evercrease
EV1 EV1
If you have too much space between the postcode and "Dear Sir or Madam" you can remove it by doing this:
-
Position your cursor so that it is flashing before the letter "D" of "Dear sir or Madam"
-
Hit your Backspace key a few times to get rid of any unwanted blank lines
-
Your text will move up one line with every tap of the backspace key
We'll now highlight the address and move it the right.
So, using one of the highlighting techniques you have learnt, highlight
the address and only the address. When you have finished, it should
look like this one:
Once we have highlighted the address we can align it to
the right. To do that we use the alignment icons on the Home
tab at the top of Microsoft Word. The alignment icons look like this:
Word 2007 Alignment options
Word 20010/13 Alignment options
The first alignment icon is Align Left; the second one
is Centre Align; the third one is Align Right; and the fourth one is
Justify.
With your address highlighted, click each of the align
icons in turn, just to get a feel for how they work. Finally, click
Align Right, the third icon. Your address should now look like this:
It doesn't look too neat and tidy, and we'll see how to
straighten the left side of the address later, when we get on to document
tabs. The lesson here, though, was all about highlighting. And, most
importantly, that only highlighted text is affected by changes you make.
All the other text remained exactly the way it was.
In the next part, we'll take a look at how Word deals with spelling and grammar errors.
Lesson06(Microsoft Word 2007 to 2013)
Opening Microsoft Word Documents
We'll shortly add an address to the top of our Library Complaint letter.
Before we do that, we'll learn how to open a file. After all, you might
have closed down Microsoft Word, or your computer might have crashed.
The result being that you no longer have your library letter loaded
into Word. So here's how to open a file you have saved, and want to
work on again.
In Word 2007, click the round Office button in the top left of Microsoft
Word:
In Word 2010, you need to click on the File tab in the
top left of Word:
If you see your file under the Recent Documents
heading, you can simply click there to open it. However, if it's not
on the list, click the Open item on the menu.
In Word 2013, when you click the File menu, your document
disappears and you'll see this screen:
Click on Open from the menu on the left and the right hand side will
change to this:
If your document is listed under Recent Documents, simply click it
to open it up. If it's not under Recent Documents, select a location
under the Open heading. Click on the Computer item and the screen
will change to this:
Click on the Browse button again.
In all Word versions, the Open dialogue box appears, and looks like
the image below:
The Open dialogue box looks very similar to the Save As
dialogue box. Notice, though, that the File name text box is
blank. If you can't see your document in the Documents Library section,
you can click where it says All Word Documents. You'll then see
a list of file types that can be opened with Microsoft Word:
This is more or less the same list you saw with the Save
As dialogue box, under Save as Type. So if you don't see your file displayed,
remember to display this list.
But the File Name text box is empty because no file has been
selected. A file is selected from the larger white area in the middle.
Clicking on the file once with the left hand mouse button will select
a file.
In the image above, the document we want is displayed. But if it's
not there, you can use the area at the top to search other folders.
Click the My Documents item to see another drop down list:
The list shows you all the folders you have in your My
Documents folder (this gets shortened to just Documents in
Windows 7). Select a folder to move inside of it.
You can see more areas on your computer by clicking the double arrows
just to the left of My Documents, in the image above. You'll then see
another list:
Again, clicking an item on the list takes you to that
location. Have a play about with them, and watch how that dialogue box
changes. To get back to where you where, you can either use the drop
down lists above, or click the arrow buttons just to the left of the
lists:
Clicking the arrows just below the word Open above
will take you either back one folder, or forward one folder. If you
get totally lost, just click the Cancel button at the bottom of the
Open dialogue box, then start again.
To open a file, though, select it by clicking the file once with your
left mouse button. Its name will then appear in the File Name at the
bottom. Once it does, click the Open button.
OK, now that you know how to open a file, we can start
adding the address to our letter.
Lesson05(Microsoft Word 2007 to 2013)
Highlighting Text in Microsoft Word
It's a lot easier to show you what highlighting is, rather than explaining
it. So examine the image below, which is what your letter should look
like so far:
The two lines with the blue background have been highlighted
(the blue highlight will be grey in some versions of Word). When you
highlight some text you can do things with it. You can change the size
of the font, underline it, make it bold, delete it altogether, and many
other things. But only the text that you have highlighted will change.
The rest of your document will remain unchanged. So if we were to change
the size of the font in the document above, only the two lines that
have been highlighted will change size. Highlighting is very important
in word processing.
So how do you highlight some text?
There are quite a few different ways to highlight text. We'll go through
a few now. Practice them as you go along.
How to highlight an entire document
You can highlight your entire document from the Home tab at
the top of Word. On the right hand side, you should see an Editing
section:
Click on the Select item to see a menu appear:
In Word 2010 and 2013 you'll see an extra item on the
menu, right at the bottom:
Click Select All from the menu to highlight an
entire document. To get rid of highlighted text, click anywhere in your
document with your left mouse button.
An easier way to highlight all the text in your document is via a keyboard
shortcut. Hold down the CTRL key on your keyboard. Keep it held down
and press the letter A. This is will select all text. (This shortcut
works in other software, not just Microsoft Word.)
How to highlight an entire line
Most of the time, though, you won't want to highlight the entire document,
but just sections of it. You can highlight an entire line with just
one mouse click.
To highlight a single line, move your mouse over to the left margin
of your document. As in the image below:
If you can't see a ruler at the top of the page and the
left of the page, click the tiny icon in the top right of Microsoft
Word:
Another way to display rulers is from the View
tab in the Ribbon at the top of Word. Locate the Show/Hide panel,
and the click the Ruler item:
When you move your mouse pointer to the margins, it will turn into
an arrow. When it does, click your left hand mouse button once, then
let go. A single line will be highlighted.
You can use the same technique to highlight more than
one line at a time. Instead of letting go of the left mouse button,
keep it held down. Then move your mouse upwards or downwards in a straight
line.
Let go of the mouse button when you are satisfied.
Highlighting blocks of text
This one is a little trickier, but not too tricky. To highlight a block
of text, do the following:
-
Click at the start of the block of text you want to highlight. (For practice purposes, click just before the letter "I" of "It has come …" on the first line.)
-
Hold down the Shift key on your keyboard (The Shift keys are the ones with the block arrows on them, pointing upwards. You hold down a shift key if you want a capital letter.)
-
With the Shift key held down, click your left mouse button at the end of the block of text you want to highlight. (Click after the question mark of " … premature?")
-
A block of text will be highlighted
Highlight by dragging
This is another tricky one, when you're starting out. A bit of practice, though, and you'll soon master it. To highlight some text by dragging, do the following:-
Click with your left mouse button at the start of the text you want to highlight
-
Keep your left mouse button held down
-
Drag your mouse pointer across the screen (Your mouse pointer will change shape. It will be the shape of a capital letter I.)
-
You can drag in any direction you like
-
When you've reached the end of the text you want to highlight, let go of the mouse button
-
Your text is highlighted
Highlighting a single word
Highlighting a single word is easy. All you have to do is to double click on the word with your left mouse button. That's it!
Highlighting with the keyboard (no mouse needed)
For more precise highlighting, nothing beats the keyboard.
Line Highlighting
-
To highlight a single line, move your cursor to the start of the line you want to highlight. (You can move the cursor about with the arrow keys on your keyboard. Play about with them and see what happens.)
-
Hold down a Shift key on your keyboard
-
With the Shift key held down, press the End key on your keyboard
-
A single line is highlighted
-
To go the other way, from the end of a line to the beginning, move your cursor to the end of the line (or somewhere in the middle will do for. It works just as well.)
-
Hold down a Shift key on your keyboard
-
With the Shift key held down, press the Home key on your keyboard
-
Your text is highlighted
Paragraph Highlighting
To highlight a paragraph with the keyboard alone, do the following-
Move your cursor to the start or end of the paragraph you want to highlight
-
Hold down a Shift key AND a Ctrl key (bottom left of your keyboard)
-
With the Shift key AND a Ctrl key held down, press the Up or DOWN arrows
-
A paragraph will be highlighted
Highlighting one word at a time
-
For practice purposes, move your cursor to the middle of a line of text
-
Hold down a Shift key AND a Ctrl key
-
With the Shift key AND a Ctrl key held down, press the Left arrow or the Right arrow key on your keyboard
Highlighting one letter at a time
-
For practice purposes, move your cursor to the middle of a line of text
-
Hold down a Shift key
-
With the Shift key, press the Left arrow or the Right arrow on your keyboard
-
A single letter is highlighted for every tap of an arrow key
And that ends the highlighting section. Practice the techniques outlined above using your library letter. It takes quite a while to master them all, so just pick a couple of highlighting techniques. The ones you find the easiest to do.
We'll now see how to open a file that you have previously saved.
Wednesday, 29 May 2013
Saving your work
Lesson:04(Microsoft Word 2007 to 2013)
To save your work in Word 2007, click the round Office button in the
top left of your screen. You should see a menu appear:
In Word 2010, click the File tab at the top of
Word:
For Word 2013 users, click the File tab as well. Your document
will disappear when you click File and you'll see this screen:
Click on Save from the menu on the left. (The area on the right shows
you information about the your document.)
When you click Save in Word 2013, the area on the right will
change to this:
Under Save As heading in Word 2013, you'll see three options:
SkyDrive, Computer, and Add a Place. The first
option is SkyDrive. This saves it to servers operated and controlled
by Microsoft. This is very useful if you want to work on your Excel
document from other locations. For example, you may be working on a
document in your office. Saving it to SkyDrive means you'll also be
able to open it when you get home from work. When you click the SkyDrive
option you'll be able to Sign In, Sign Up, or simply Learn More. We'll
be saving to the Computer, though, so click this option. Then
click the Browse option:
In all versions of Word, when you click the Save
item (or Save then Browse) you'll see a dialogue box appear:
There are three main areas to the Save dialogue box: Where
do you want to save your document? What do you want to call it? What
type of document do you want to save it as?
We'll take the three areas in turn, starting with "Where do you
want to save your document?"
The "Where" is set right at the top. The default location
is in the Documents folder on your computer. You can see where
this is by clicking the arrow in the top left:
The dropdown menu is a list of locations on your computer.
The image above is from Windows 7 and shows that we are in the Libraries
folder. If you have Windows Vista, you won't see a Libraries entry.
It will say Users. There will then be another one next to Users
that has the user name you used when setting up your computer. For example:
Users > Kenny > Documents.
Inside the Libraries folder is another one called Documents.
We're saving it to this folder. The larger area of the Save As dialogue
box shows you the folders that are already in the Documents folder:
You can create folders of your own to hold your work.
So click the New Folder button at the top:
You should see a new yellow folder appear in the main
area of the Save As dialogue box, with some blue highlighting:
The blue highlighting means that it is ready to be typed
over. Type the name My WP Projects. Then press the enter key
on your keyboard (or just click away). The folder will then be renamed:
If you get it wrong, click back onto the folder. Now click
again, and you should see the same blue highlighting. Or just right
click the folder to see a new menu appear. Select Rename from
the menu.
Now that you have created a new folder, double click the folder name
to move inside of it. Notice the location area at the top:
The name of our folder has been added to the right of
Documents, indicating that this new folder is inside of the Documents
folder. In other words, there is a folder called Libraries, and
inside of that another one called Documents. The folder we have
created, the My WP Projects one, is inside of the Documents folder.
File Names
We now need to come up with a name for this particular document that
we're saving. If you have a look at the bottom of the Save As
dialogue box you'll see two areas: one called File Name, and
the other called Save as Type. The File Name area is where you
type a name for your document. The Save as Type means which type of
document is will be. Microsoft Word documents from 2007 onwards end
with the letters docx. Previously, the letters where just doc.
If you sent someone a Word document with the ending docx, somebody
with version 2003 of the software would not be able to open your file.
Simply because previous Office versions don't know how to handle the
newer format. The reverse is not true, though: they could send you a
file that ended with the letters doc and you would be able to
open it up in Word 2007 or Word 2010/13.
Microsoft Word allows you to save documents in a wide range of different
formats. Click anywhere inside of the Save as Type area to see a list
of the different formats:
The image shows that we have Word 97 - 2003 Document in the
Save as Type area. The three letter extension shows .doc. The
first one on the list, however, is Word Document .docx, which
is the one we want. Make sure this one is selected in your Save As dialogue
box.
Now have a look at the File Name area. It should say Doc1.docx.
(It might just say Doc1, however, if you haven't enabled file extensions
on your computer. If you can't see any file extensions, do the tutorial
here on our site: Enable File
Extensions.) If your File Name area does not say Doc1, it may just
display the first line of text from your document.
If you clicked the Save button now, your file will be called
"Doc1" (or whatever you have in the File Name area). That's
not a very descriptive name for a document, so we'll change it to something
else. To give your document a different name, simply click inside the
File Name text box. Delete everything in the text box. Type in a new
name, something like Library Letter.
Your Save As dialogue box should now look like the one below. When
it does, click the Save button:
You have now saved your work to your hard drive. Word 2007 and Word
2010 users will be returned to the main document area, with the letter
displayed. Word 2013 users, however, will stay on the same screen. To
get back to your letter, click the white arrow in the white circle top
left of your screen:
To prove that your document has indeed been saved, click the round
Office button in the top left, or the File tab in Word 2010/13. Select
Save As. (Word 2013 users will need to click the Browse button
again from the right hand side.) When the Save As dialogue box appears,
you should see the name of your file in the big white area:
Click the Cancel button to get rid of the Save As dialogue box.
You can continue to work on a document that has been saved. But if
you add more lines to your letter, or make any changes, you need to
keep saving your changes on regular basis. You don't have to use Save
As any more. You can just click the Office button or the File tab, then
click on Save. Or click on the Save icon at the top of the screen,
highlighted in the image below. This will update your document.
Word 2007
Word 2010/13
A shortcut for saving your work is to hold down the CTRL key on your
keyboard. Keep it held down and then press the letter S.
Remember to save your work on a regular basis. It's not a pleasant
experience to have worked on a document for some time only for your
computer to break down. When you finally get your computer to work again,
if you haven't saved regularly you'll find all that hard work lost forever,
with no way to get it back!
OK, now that you know how to save a Microsoft Word document, let's
move on. The next section will be about highlighting text.
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)
